Posted on
Rate this post

When cheese is created, rennet, which is another word for enzymes, is added. This is done to thicken the mixture before forming the curds. These milk-clotting enzymes may be synthesized from synthetic or animal sources.

The coagulation of enzymes is used in the manufacturing of practically all types of cheese. This generally makes cheese a difficult option among vegetarian mainstays. Is Sargento cheese, on the other hand, vegetarian?

Indeed, practically all Sargento cheeses, both sliced and shredded, are vegetarian since they are created with non-animal, synthetic rennet.

We’ll look at what Sargento cheeses are comprised of and why they’re regarded vegan-friendly in this post.

Let’s get this party started!

What Is Sargento Cheese?

Sargento cheese is always shredded fresh from blocks of genuine, natural cheese, and it will add zing to your favorite omelet or cheddar cheese soup, or whatever you’re cooking.

When cooking with full-flavored or heavily seasoned items, you’ll need a cheese that can make a statement. Sargento cheese accomplishes the job well.

It contains no artificial hormones, flavoring, or antibiotics of any kind.

And the Easy-close FreshLock packaging keeps the cheese fresher for longer, although we recommend using it within five days after opening for best freshness.

Is Sargento Cheese Vegetarian?

Sargento cheeses are often vegetarian.

The only other types of Sargento natural cheeses that may include animal enzymes are those that incorporate Romano, Asiago, or Jarlsberg cheeses.

These are their names:

  • Shredded Romano or Parmesan Cheese Artisan Blends
  • 6 shredded cheese Italian Cheddar
  • Low Fat 4 Cheese Shredded Italian Cheddar
  • Jarlsberg Deli Style Sliced Cheese

The cheese dips in the non-refrigerated MooTown Snacks, which include Cheese Dip & Cracker Sticks, Cheese Dip & Pretzel Sticks, and Cheese Dip & Crackers, include cattle rennet.

As a result, Sargento products are available for a wide range of consumers, whether vegetarian or not.

What Is Sargento Cheese Made From?

It’s produced using Cheddar Cheese as the foundation. This cheese has the following ingredients:

  • Milk that has been pasteurized
  • Culture of Cheese
  • Salt
  • Enzymes obtained artificially
  • Annatto (Vegetable Color) (Vegetable Color)
  • Starch from potatoes
  • Powdered Cellulose
  • Natamycin

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Sargento Kosher?

Sargento, on the other hand, is not kosher. Nonetheless, the majority of Sargento natural cheeses are manufactured without the use of animal rennet. They do not include any pork rennet.

The different Sargento natural cheeses that may include animal enzymes as an ingredient are usually regarded to be typical Italian cheese varieties. The cheeses like Parmesan, Romano, Provolone, Asiago, and Fontina cheese.

What is Natamycin?

It is a mold stopper made of food-grade materials. It is organic and obtained by fermentation. Don’t worry; it doesn’t kill germs; it only keeps yeast and mold at bay.

Does Sargento have any lactose-free cheese?

All Sargento cheeses are lactose-free in general. As cheese is created, 95 to 98% of the lactose in the milk is removed, and the remainder is discharged as the milk aged.

Is there gluten in Sargento cheese?

There are just two options. Gluten is present in the Sargento Sweet Balanced Breaks and Sargento Balanced Breaks Cheese & Crackers variants, which include graham crackers, whole grain wheat, wheat flour, wheat germ, and barley.

Is Sargento cheese cruelty-free?

Absolutely. The creators are devoted to treating cattle grown for milk production ethically and do not accept animal maltreatment in any manner.


It is not difficult to find vegetarian cheese, but it is also not easy.

Sargento is a company that produces a variety of basic foods, thus the issue of whether Sargento cheese is vegetarian is natural.

Sargento cheeses offers a variety of vegetarian-friendly cheeses, which we personally suggest to our readers.


What Sargento cheese is vegetarian?

Non-animal rennet is used in the production of the majority of Sargento® natural cheeses. Traditional Italian cheese varieties such as Parmesan, Romano, Provolone, Asiago, and Fontina are among the Sargento® natural cheeses that may include animal enzymes.

What cheeses are vegetarian?

Softer cheeses, such as paneer, cream cheese, and cottage cheese, do not need rennet since the dairy is curdled with vinegar or lemon juice. As a result, if you want to prevent animal rennet, these are better alternatives.

Which cheese isn t vegetarian?

The INFORMER Summary: Rennet, an enzyme found in the stomach lining of a goat or calf, is used to make Parmesan cheese.
Since it is used in cheeses such as Parmesan, Pecorino Romano, Manchengo, Gruyère, Gorgonzola, and others, they are not truly vegetarian.
Additional information…•June 1, 2017

How do you know if cheese is vegetarian?

Non-animal enzymes are sometimes included on the label, indicating that the rennet is suitable for vegetarians. Vegetable Rennet – Seeing vegetable rennet on the label almost guarantees that the rennet used is derived from a plant. Thistle, melon, safflower, and fig leaves are common plants used to manufacture vegetable rennet.

Is rennet free cheese vegetarian?

Milk and cheese manufactured without rennet are deemed vegetarian since they may be produced without causing animal damage.” Animal rennet-containing cheeses will almost always specify one of the following ingredients: “rennet,” “animal enzymes,” or simply “enzymes.”

Is rennet vegetarian?

Rennet has traditionally been extracted from the stomach linings of young ruminant animals such as calves or lambs during the slaughtering process. Any cheese using this sort of animal rennet is not vegetarian.

Which cheeses are made with rennet?

This rennet is used to manufacture all Tillamook cheeses, including Medium, Sharp, Special Reserve Extremely Sharp, Kosher, and Reduced Fat Cheddar, as well as Monterey Jack, Mozzarella, Colby, Colby-Jack, Pepper-Jack, Provolone, Muenster, Swiss, and Reduced Fat Monterey.

Can vegetarians eat mozzarella?

Cheeses Made Without Rennet

“Many softer cheeses, such as mozzarella, paneer, ricotta, and cream cheese, utilize whey or another form of acid as their coagulant rather than rennet, so they are suitable for vegetarians,” Birnbaum explains.

Can vegetarians eat any cheese?

A vegetarian diet avoids items derived from animals (such as meat), although cheese may be vegetarian if it does not include animal rennet.

Why do vegetarians not eat rennet cheese?

Many cheeses include animal rennet, an enzyme that aids in the separation of milk into curds and whey. Since that enzyme is often extracted from the stomachs of calves slaughtered for veal, most vegetarians consider it off-limits.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *