Posted on
Rate this post

Agar-agar is a necessary component in the production of various Asian candies and desserts. It is also used as a vegan gelling agent, however it is not an extensively used component globally.

Since it is not widely used in most regions, you may not be able to locate it in shops or food supermarkets. You might attempt different agar agar replacements if you require something with the same qualities as agar.

Gelatin, cassava flour, guar gum, xanthan gum, cornstarch, pectin powder, and carrageenan are some of the greatest agar agar substitutes that you may utilize, and theyre all easily accessible in your local supermarket.

Thus, if you don’t know where to acquire agar, sit back and read on to discover all of the alternative replacements for your recipe.

What Is Agar Agar?

Agar-agar is a jelly-like material produced from polysaccharides found in the cell walls of certain algae, primarily red algae. In many regions of Asia, it is used as an ingredient in sweets.

Agar may be used as a laxative, appetite suppressant, and soup thickening; it can also be used to preserve ice cream and as a clarifying agent in brewing.

Best Agar Agar Substitutes

There are several agar alternatives available in regions where agar cannot be obtained, although some are better than others. The top seven agar alternatives will be highlighted in this section.

Since agar is tasteless and odorless, it is ideal for incorporating into a variety of dishes, whether sweet, sour, or spicy. Some great replacements are as follows:

1. Gelatin

Gelatin, also known as galantine, is a transparent, colorless, and flavorless food component made from animal body parts that is one of the greatest agar agar alternatives. While dry, it is brittle, and when wet, it becomes rubbery.

It’s popular in jello and other related goods. Gelatin is not a vegetarian food since it includes meat. Since gelatin is colorless and odorless, it has no effect on the taste of the original food.

Unlike agar, gelatin is easy to blend with other foods and is widely available in supermarkets. Nevertheless, gelatin is less nutritious than agar in terms of nutrients. Although agar must be cooked before use, gelatin may be used as is. When used in a recipe, it should be used in a 3:1 ratio.

2. Guar Gum

Guar gum (also known as guaran) is a polysaccharide derived from guar beans. It works well as a thickening and stabilizer in food, feed, and industrial applications. It is a gluten-free substitute used in the production of wheat flour. It’s filling, healthful, and adaptable.

It may be used to make pizza dough, cakes, muffins, and other baked goods. To prevent overuse, use half a spoonful for each serving.

3. Xanthan Gum

Xanthan gum is a popular food ingredient that may be used in place of agar agar. It also thickens and stabilizes the components, preventing them from separating. It is produced by fermenting a certain kind of bacteria and is completely safe to ingest.

To get the best results when used as a thickening, use it in a 1:1 ratio. It is widely available in supermarkets and has a long shelf life. The main downside of this product is that it is expensive and may not be affordable to many individuals.

4. Cornstarch

Cornstarch is another effective agar alternative. Cornstarch is made from the grain of corn. It is extracted from the endosperm of the kernel and may be used to thicken sauces and soups in addition to sweets.

Like other replacements, it is a texturizer with no flavor or odor. It may be used to give softness to cookies and other pastries by enhancing the texture. To get the best results, use it in a 1:1 ratio to replace agar.

5. Pectin Powder

Pectin powder is a great vegan alternative to agar. It is a berry and citrus fruit-based veggie alternative. It is regarded as one of the most effective thickeners in jams and jellies.

Pectin powder is fibrous and has little nutritional value. Unlike agar, pectin powder is discovered to be sweet.

It is mostly used to make sweets, but its disadvantage is that it cannot be utilized to make savory foods. When replacing for agar, it should be used at a 3:1 ratio.

6. Carrageenan

Since they are both seaweed-based gelling agents, carrageenan and agar are comparable. Although carrageenan is frequently utilized due to its ease of availability, it has certain negative health consequences.

Carrageenan is commonly utilized in the preparation of meat and soy milk. It has no nutritional value or flavor and can only be used as a thickening or stabilizer.

7. Cassava Flour

Cassava flour has been more popular in recent years, and obtaining it is not difficult. Cassava flour is made from the cassava plant and is often used in gluten-free recipes.

Cassava flour is similar to arrowroot, therefore it may be used as a general agar flake or powder alternative. It’s also great in gravies and baked goods.

How Do You Make Agar Agar at Home?

A cup of water and one teaspoon of active agar powder are required for an agar recipe. To set a dessert, the agar must be activated.

If you prepare an agar dish and the dessert does not set, the agar agar was not properly cooked. If your agar isn’t set, it will stay liquid even after an hour in the fridge.

To begin, dissolve the agar agar powder in a liquid, stirring constantly to prevent the powder from clumping together, and bring the mixture to a boil.

Reduce the heat and let the mixture simmer for approximately five minutes until it begins to boil. After that, pour the liquid onto a tray, cup, or other container of your choosing and place it in the refrigerator to chill until ready.

Agar-agar sets rapidly in the fridge and should be ready in about an hour or two.

Frequently asked questions

What is agar made of?

Agar-agar is a plant-based gelatin derived from seaweeds. It’s a white, semi-translucent vegetable that comes in flakes, strands, and bars. It is mostly used in cooking as a thickening or stabilizing ingredient.

Can I use gelatin instead of agar?

Whereas gelatin is an effective alternative for agar-agar, the same outcomes should not be anticipated when the two are substituted.

Gelatin has a creamy texture, while agar has a harder feel. Agar is much more potent than gelatin. Eight teaspoons of gelatin powder equal one teaspoon of agar powder.

Hence, when replacing gelatin for agar, use a lot of it to get the same outcomes as agar.

Can you mix agar-agar and gelatin?

Yes, they may be combined, but be sure to add the gelatin and agar to the dry ingredients first and stir everything together well before adding any liquids.

Excessive use can make bread soggy, so make sure to use the appropriate amount for your dishes or baked goods.

Is cornstarch a good substitute for agar?

If you need agar-agar powdered for a dish and don’t have any on hand, you may always use cornstarch as a replacement; however, this is only feasible when agar-agar powdered is required.

Since agar powder is denser than corn flakes, one tablespoon of agar equals two teaspoons of cornstarch.

Can you add your agar?

Yes, add the beef stock powder, sugar, and gelation to hot water and whisk constantly until all of the components are dissolved.

Let the agar mixture to cool somewhat while covered, and remove the lid only when you’re ready to add your agar powder, or the components will get contaminated by air.

Can I use xanthan gum instead of agar-agar?

Indeed, xanthan gum is an excellent agar-agar alternative. You may substitute agar with xanthan gum in a 1:1 ratio, but you must first dissolve it in water for it to operate properly.

Can I use xanthan gum instead of gelatin?

Yes, xanthan gum may be used in place of gelatin in certain recipes; however, when substituting xanthan gum for gelatin, use half the quantity of gelatin specified in the recipe.

Since gelatin is a gelling agent, but xanthan gum is a thickening agent, you cannot use xanthan gum and gelatin interchangeably.

In certain circumstances, you may substitute one for the other, but it depends on how the component will be used in the recipe.

Related Articles:

  • The Top 12 Potato Starch Substitutes
  • Agar Flakes vs. Agar Powder
  • 7 Delicious Potato Flakes Substitutes
  • Is Agar Agar Vegetarian?


What can I use instead of agar agar and gelatin?

Agar Agar. If your recipe asks for gelatin, the simplest and most usual option to replace it is with agar agar powder! …\sKudzu. Kudzu is a flavorless gelatin alternative…. Pectin…. Vegan Jel…. Quick Clear Gel…. Guar Gum…. Xanthan Gum…. Cornstarch.
Additional details…•August 7, 2022

Can I use xanthan gum instead of agar agar?

Agar agar is an algae-based thickener that functions similarly to a vegan version of gelatin. It needs a bit more preparation than most substitutes, but it may be replaced in a 1:1 ratio with xanthan gum.

Can I substitute agar agar for cornstarch?

Replace cornstarch 1:1. Agar agar flakes are a flavorless and odorless sea vegetable gelatin. 1 tablespoon agar agar may be substituted for 2 tablespoons cornstarch.

What is alternative for agar in culture media?

Conclusions: Guar gum, a galactomannan that is 50 times cheaper than Difco-bacto agar, may be utilized as a gelling agent in microbial culture medium instead of agar.

Can I use Jello instead of agar agar?

Gelatin, unflavored

If you are not vegan (or are cooking for a vegan), unflavored gelatin is one of the greatest agar agar replacements. Unflavored gelatin is created by grinding animal collagen into a white powder. What exactly is this? Several popular treats, such as flavored Jell-O, are made from gelatin.

Which is better guar gum or xanthan gum?

Guar gum, in general, is better for cold meals like ice cream or pastry fillings, while xanthan gum is better for baked items. For yeasted breads, xanthan gum is the best option. Items strong in acid (such as lemon juice) might cause guar gum to lose its thickening properties.

How do you make agar agar?

cups and chill in the refrigerator until ready to use. Dissolve the agar agar powder in a liquid in a small saucepan. Continue whisking (to keep the powder from clumping) while bringing the liquid to a boil. When it reaches a boil, reduce to a low heat and let to simmer for 5 minutes. The liquid is then poured into trays.

Is agar agar better than guar gum?

Nevertheless, applying too much agar agar might cause extra moisture to be retained, leaving bread or cakes mushy. Since the Internet is the primary source of agar agar, guar gum powder is the safest option and better customer choice.

Can I use gelatin powder instead of agar agar?

Agar is more gummi than gelatin.

At normal temperature, agar sets more firmly than gelatin. If you are not a strict vegetarian, use gelatin in softer meals such as mousse and panna cotta. You may also have better success thickening soups using gelatin or cornstarch rather than agar.

Is agar agar the same as arrowroot?

Agar and Arrowroot have significant variances.

Agar has 104 times more calcium than arrowroot. Agar has 625mg of calcium, whilst Arrowroot contains 6mg.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *